James Zimmerman was the President of the International Astronautical Federation from 2004-2008.

He is President of International Space Services, Inc. a space policy and business development consulting firm located in McLean, Virginia, USA.

Zimmerman received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Beloit College and a Master of Arts degree from Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies, both in the USA. He also studied at the Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University and at universities in Finland, Austria and Italy.

Zimmerman, as Chief of the US National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) International Planning and Programs Office, was responsible for negotiating NASA’s joint projects with space agencies in Africa, the Americas, Asia and Europe. In 1980 Zimmerman founded and served as the first Director of the International Affairs Office of the National Environmental Satellite Service, US Department of Commerce at the time when the Commerce Department assumed responsibility for the LANDSAT Earth observations satellite programme.

Zimmerman held several other senior executive positions in the US Government. As the Assistant Director for Export, Import and International Safeguards of the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission he was responsible for approving American exports of fuel and reactor components for nuclear power and research purposes. He served as the European Representative of NASA in Paris, France from 1985 to 1997. During this twelve-year assignment in France he travelled extensively throughout Europe to represent the US Government’s civil aerospace interests.

Zimmerman is a Fellow in the American Astronautical Society and an Associate Fellow in the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics where he also serves as Vice President – International. He is a co-author of the Next Steps in Exploring Deep Space cosmic study published by the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA). Zimmerman was twice awarded NASA’s Exceptional Service Medal. In addition he received the European Space Agency’s International Space Station Award and the German Space Agency’s International Cooperation Award.