Committee on Near Earth Objects (NEO) (2018-2021)

Objective/Scope of the Committee

The primary aims of the IAF’s Near-Earth Objects Technical Committee are:

  • To encourage, monitor and assess
    » progress in our understanding of the near-Earth object (NEO) population and the associated impact hazard.
    » the innovative application of space technology for the purposes of NEO reconnaissance and mitigation.
  • To exchange information on current and prospective activities, which aim to understand the NEO environment and apply space technology for monitoring and mitigation.
  • To provide a point of contact, in particular for national and international bodies and the press, for authoritative information and advice on the NEO impact hazard and mitigation possibilities.

Through electronic media, and meetings and workshops on topics of relevance to the impact hazard and mitigation initiatives, the committee provides a forum for the exchange, discussion and publication of ideas and results. As appropriate, the committee liaises and coordinates its activities with other relevant IAF Technical and Administrative Committees as well as with COSPAR, the IAA, the IISL and other interested organisations.

Committee rules for membership applications and renewal

Membership applications should include a CV and a brief description of areas in which the candidate might contribute. Applications are distributed to the TC members and their comments assessed by the Chair before a recommendation is made to the IAF Secretariat.

Technical meetings or events outside of the IAC

Events which are regularly attended by NEO TC members include the IAA Planetary Defense conferences held every two years, the Asteroids, Comets, Meteors (ACM) conferences held every three years, and annual national/regional conferences, such as the European Planetary Sciences Congresses and the conferences of the Division for Planetary Sciences of the American Astronomical Society.

Other committee activities

A number of NEO TC members collaborate on the European-Commission funded FP7 project NEOShield. The NEO TC Chairman is the Coordinator of NEOShield.

Committee Members


Alex Karl


Nancy C. Wolfson


V. Adimurthy
William Ailor
Ian Carnelli
Alison Gibbings
Alan Harris
Philipp Maier
Patrick Michel
Ghulam Murtaza
S. P. Worden
Makoto Yoshikawa
Changyin Zhao


Jose Luis Galache
Peter Marquez


Erik Asphaug
Alan Fitzsimmons
Harold Reitsema