Committee on Space Security (2018-2021)

Objective/Scope of the Committee

The Space Security Committee will focus on issues and activities that enhance or threaten the long term sustainability of space activities.

The committee will:

  • Assess and report on space debris, on natural hazards to the space environment, and other threats that may reduce humankind’s ability to work in space effectively;
  • Assess and report on activities that can enhance humankind’s ability to work in space effectively;
  • Promote international cooperative activities in securing outer space for current and future space activities.
  • Coordinate its activities with other relevant IAF Committees and Working Groups as well as those of the IAA and IISL
  • Identify areas for future studies and projects that would improve the long term sustainability of space activities.
  • Provide inputs to the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space and to non-governmental organizations focused on space activities.
  • To organise, as appropriate, Symposia and Workshops on space safety and security to be held under the auspices of the IAF.

Committee Members


Serge Plattard


Pascal Faucher


Christina Giannopapa


Roberto Aceti
William Ailor
Julien Airaud
Brett Biddington
Steer Cassandra
Richard Crowther
Luca del Monte
Amélie Granier
Henry Hertzfeld
Moriba Jah
Chris Johnson
Samantha Le May
Pierre Lods
John Logsdon
Agnieszka Lukaszczyk
Peter Martinez
Charlotte Mathieu
Sebastien Moranta
Ronnie Nader
Annamaria Nassisi
Scott Pace
Nicolas Peter
Jana Robinson
Victoria Samson
Kai-Uwe Schrogl
Michael Simpson
Gurbir Singh
Klaus Steinberg
Peter Stubbe
Brian Weeden
Krystal Wilson
Ray A. Williamson
Stefano Zatti
Shengjun Zhang
Zhenjun Zhang


Maarten Adriaensen
Ntorina Antoni
Stephanie Wan


David Y. Kusnierkiewicz