Space Communications and Navigation Committee (SCAN) (2018-2021)

Objective/Scope of the Committee

The SCAN committee is responsible, within the IAF, for all aspects of satellite-based communication and navigation systems and technology. The committee will organise the SCAN symposium at each IAC and, when appropriate, will organise specialised plenary sessions and Highlight Lectures. It will provide annual inputs to the IAF report to the United Nations.

Committee rules for membership applications and renewal

The committee continuously seeks new members, particularly in the area of satellite-based navigation systems. In the past 4 years, the committee has added 7 new members. In addition, members who have not made a contribution to the activities of the committee in the past several years are asked to renew their interest.

Symposiums/Sessions at the IAC

SCAN organises 6 sessions at each IAC.

At IAC 2010, it organised a plenary session dealing with Global Navigation Satellite Systems, “Never Lost Again”, and sponsored a Highlight Lecture, given by Dr Bradford Parkinson, on the history of GPS.

At IAC 2011, it organised a Plenary session dealing with telecommunications in less-developed regions.

At IAC 2013, it will co-sponsor, with the Space Security Committee, session B2.7, “Joint Session on Dual Use Aspects of Telecommunications and GNSS.”

It organised Virtual Forums at IAC 2011 and 2012.

Technical meetings or events outside of the IAC

At the UN/COPUOS session in Vienna in 2010, Dr Koudelka presented the Highlights of the SCAN sessions at IAC 2009.

Robert Briskman actively contributed to the programme of the 5th Advanced Satellite Multimedia Systems conference, held in Sardinia in September 2010.

Committee Members


Manfred Wittig


Rita Lollock


Ramon P. De Paula


Eva-Maria Aicher
Abdul Mohsen Z. Al Husseini
Nader Alagha
Sara AlMaeeni
Edward W. Ashford
Laszlo Bacsardi
Elemer Bertenyi
Robert D. Briskman
Peter Buist
Enrique Pacheco Cabrera
M.G. Chandrasekhar
D. K. Das
Debra L. Emmons
Norbert Frischauf
Moon-Beom Heo
Otto Koudelka
Attila Matas
Amane Miura
K.R. Sridhara Murthi
Giovanni Palmerini
Kristian Pauly
M. K. Rao
Kevin Shortt
Steven Shumsky
Dipak Srinivasan
Joe M. Straus
Da Tian
Morio Toyoshima
Desaraju Venugopal
Stephanie Wan
Dun Wang
Wei Wang
Adi Wasserman
Eric Wille


Vera Pinto


Yutaka Nagai