Luigi G. Napolitano Award

The Luigi G. Napolitano Award is presented annually to a young scientist who has significantly contributed to the advancement of the aerospace science and has presented it with a paper at the IAC.

Hao Chen, 2019 Luigi G. Napolitano Award Recipient

The Luigi G. Napolitano Award is presented annually by the Space Education and Outreach Committee (SEOC) of the International Astronautical Federation to a young scientist, below 30 years of age, who has contributed significantly to the advancement of the aerospace science and has given a paper at the International Astronautical Congress on the contribution.
The Luigi G. Napolitano Award is given during the closing ceremony of the International Astronautical Congress and the recipient is invited to participate in the gala dinner of the IAC. The award was donated by the Napolitano family and consists of the Napolitano commemorative medal and a certificate of citation. The Luigi Gerardo Napolitano Society sponsors this annual award.


Click here for more Information

Luigi G. Napolitano Award recipients

  • 2022 Julia Briden (United States)
  • 2021 Federica Angeletti (Italy)
  • 2020 Elizabeth Barrios (United States)
  • 2019 Hao Chen
  • 2018 Peter Schulte
  • 2017 Akshata Krishnamurthy (India)
  • 2016 Melissa Mirino (Italy)
  • 2015 Koki Ho (Japan)
  • 2014 Alessandro Golkar (Italy)
  • 2013 Sreeja Nag (USA)
  • 2012 Valerio Carandente (Italy)
  • 2011 Nishchay Mhatre (India)
  • 2010 Andrew Flasch (Japan)
  • 2009 Daniel Kwom (USA)
  • 2008 Giuseppe Del Gaudio (Italy)
  • 2007 Paul Williams (Australia)
  • 2006 Carlo Menon (Italy)
  • 2005 Nicola Baggio (Italy)
  • 2004 Julie Bellerose (USA)
  • 2003 Veronica de Micco (Italy)
  • 2002 Stefano Ferreti (Italy)
  • 2001 Noboru Takeichi (Japan)
  • 2000 Frederic Monnaie (France)
  • 1999 Chris Blanksby (Australia)
  • 1998 Michael Donald Ingham
  • 1997 G.W.R. Frenken (Netherlands)
  • 1996 W. Tang (China)
  • 1995 O.G Liepack (Germany)
  • 1994 Ralph D. Lorenz (UK)
  • 1993 Shin-Chin Nishizawa (Japan)

For further information about this programme, please contact the IAF Secretariat at: