Student Competition

At the IAC E2 Symposium, the Student Conference, undergraduate and graduate students (no more than 28 years of age) present papers on any project in space sciences, industry or technology.

2016 Student Competition recipients

While Student Conference sessions E2.1 and E2.2 address students presenting papers that represent the specific work of no more than two students, the Student Team Competition (E2.3) addresses undergraduate and graduate level student teams papers which represent the work of three or more students.

All students presenting papers in the sessions E2.1 and E2.2 will compete in the student competition; students presenting in session E2.3 compete for the Hans von Muldau Team Award.

The guidelines for the student competition will be distributed from the session chairs to the authors after abstract acceptance.

The awards for the winners of the international student competition are sponsored by

  • Association Aéronautique et Astronautique de France (3AF)
  • British Interplanetary Society (BIS)
  • Deutsche Gesellschaft für Luft- und Raumfahrt – Lilienthal-Oberth e.V. (DGLR)
  • Internationaler Förderkreis für Raumfahrt (IFR)

2019 International Student Winners

Undergraduate Category

  • 3AF Gold: Eleonor Frost, University College London (UCL), ‘Investigating the Feasibility and Design of a Microgravity Surgical Workstation’
  • Hermann Oberth Silver – IFR: Martin Reiswich, FH Aachen University of Applied Sciences, ‘Passive Thermal Control by Integration of Phase Change Material into Additively Manufactured Structures’

Graduate Category

  • Hermann Oberth Gold – IFR: Johnie Sublett, Georgia Institute of Technology, ‘Design and Testing of a Fault-tolerant Space Suit’
  • 3AF Silver: Norbert Pouzin, ISAE-Supaero University of Toulouse, ‘MDRS crew 206’s sleep analysis with DREEM: influence of the mission and the EVAs on sleep quality’
  • British Interplanetary Society Prize for best technical paper: Pau Molas-Roca, Luleå University of Technology, ‘Design of Scalable Hybrid Rocket Motor for Space Propulsion Applications’
  • Hans von Muldau Team Award for the Best Team Project: (Representative) Katherine Carroll, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, ‘Micrometeoroid Impact Detection and Suppression for ISS EVAs’

French, German, US, British and Canadian students submitting abstracts for the sessions E2.1 and E2.2 should apply via the national coordinators: