PRESS RELEASE

For immediate release

Contact: Emma Huis
E: emma.huis@iafastro.org
media@iafastro.org
T: +33 (0)1 45 67 82 81

IAC 2016 will Recognize Achievements!

Each year, the IAF confers a number of awards to individuals and groups, who have distinguished themselves in space cooperation and space activities at global level; are engaged with or participate actively in the activities of the Federation. The awards are presented at the annual International Astronautical Congress.

This year, the 67th International Astronautical Congress to be held in Guadalajara, Mexico from 26 - 30 September 2016 will welcome the 2016 IAF awards recipients on Friday 30 September during the Closing Ceremony.

Among them will be recognized the IAF's most prestigious award recipient, **Dr. Yuri Koptev**, ROSCOSMOS, for the **IAF World Space Award**, the **Allan D. Emil Memorial Award** recipient, **Dr. Charles Elachi**, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, the **Frank J. Malina Astronautics Medal** recipient, **Ms. Bénédicte Escudier**, ISAE-SUPAERO and **the IAF Hall of Fame** award recipients, **Prof. U.R. Rao, Mr. Norman Crabill, Prof. Wang Xiji** and **Dr. Manfred Fuchs**.

In addition, the IAF will also recognize its **2016 Young Space Leaders** for their outstanding leadership in their academic or early careers: **Ms. Jessica Culler**, NASA, **Ms. Victoria Alonsoperez**, Chipsafer, **Ms. Andrea Boyd**, European Space Agency, **Mr. Amalio Monzon**, Airbus and **Mr. Takashi Ohtani**, JAXA.

Remember to follow #IAC2016 on Social Media, we are on <u>Facebook</u>, <u>Twitter</u>, <u>LinkedIN</u>, <u>Instagram</u> and <u>YouTube</u>.

Members of the press are invited to register to ensure that they receive accreditation. Please send confirmation of your registration to abed.aldaas@iafastro.org so that we can ensure that you are properly accredited.











