IAF Governance


The IAF is a non-profit non-governmental organization set up in 1951 under French law. Its structure is laid out in the IAF Constitution, which defines the IAF as a federation of member organizations where decisions are made by a General Assembly.


The IAF General Assembly (GA) is the supreme governing body of the Federation, composed of delegates of each member organization. It votes and approves all strategic decisions guiding the Federation’s conduct and activities, including the approval of new member organizations. The GA convenes annually during the International Astronautical Congress (IAC).


The IAF Bureau sets the agenda of the IAF General Assembly, including: review of new member candidates; supervision of IAF activities; and supervision of IAF accounts. It is made up of:

  • The IAF President
  • The Incoming IAF President
  • 12 IAF Vice-Presidents
  • The IAF Executive Director
  • The IAF General Counsel
  • The IAF Incoming General Counsel
  • The IAF Honorary Secretary
  • The President of the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA)
  • The President of the International Institute of Space Law (IISL)
  • Special Advisor to the President

For the complete composition of the Bureau please click here.

IAF FORMER presidents

For a complete list of all the Federation’s Former Presidents since its creation in 1951, please click here.