Space Transportation Committee (2018-2021)

Objective/Scope of the Committee

The Space Transportation Committee activities address space transportation solutions and innovations worldwide. Its goal is to foster understanding and cooperation amongst the world’s space-faring organisations.

The corresponding activities are devoted to different types of space transportation missions, systems (launch vehicle system and/or the propulsion stages, expendable or reusable, manned or unmanned) and to their safety and support operations.

Committee rules for membership applications and renewal

The members represent a wide span of worldwide organisations; the membership should be equilibrated among the various countries.

To that effect, new members are elected by present members during one of the two yearly meetings of the Committee after presenting themselves with a short biography.

Membership shall be effective: if a member never participates in the Committee meetings, its departure from the Committee may be proposed by the members.

The Committee members designate two Coordinators among them; tradition to have one US Coordinator associated with one non-US one has proven so far to be efficient.
Coordinators serve for a 4 year period, 2 years separating their two nominations. They can be re-selected for other terms if the members decide to.

The Chairmen and Rapporteurs for the various sessions of up-coming congresses are exclusively chosen among the Committee members in order to guarantee some continuity in action from year to year; they shall be selected trying to represent harmoniously the diversity of the Committee.

Symposiums/Sessions at the IAC

  • D2.1. Launch Vehicles in Service or in Development
  • D2.2. Launch Services, Missions, Operations and Facilities
  • D2.3. Upper Stages, Space Transfer, Entry and Landing Systems
  • D2.4. Future Space Transportation Systems
  • D2.5. Future Space Transportation Systems Technologies
  • D2.6. Future Space Transportation Systems Verification and In-Flight Experimentation
  • D2.7: Small Launchers: Concepts and Operations
  • D2.8. Joint Session on Going To and Beyond the Earth-Moon System: Human Missions to Mars, Libration Points and NEO’s (Joint Session with A5.4)
  • D2.9: Thematic session, reviewed annually in consideration of the IAC’s location.
    In 2013: Solutions for Human Flights in China (co-sponsored by IAA Commission III)

Technical meetings or events outside of the IAC

Two meetings per year:

  • one on the Sunday prior to the IAC
  • one during the IAF Spring meeting

Corresponding Minutes of Meeting available on the IAF web site

Other committee activities

Exchange of information among the members all year long.

Committee Members


Markus Jäger


Randy L. Kendall
Yuguang Yang


Julio Aprea
Shigeru Aso
Igor V. Belokonov
Nicolas Bérend
Christophe Bonnal
Mathieu Chaize
Harry A. Cikanek
Charles E. Cockrell Jr.
Jerry Cook
Emmanuelle David
Pier Paolo de Matteis
Aline Decadi
Carina Dorbath
Christian Dujarric
Daniel L. Dumbacher
Walter Faulconer
José Gavira Izquierdo
Yves Gerard
David E. Glass
Sylvain Guédron
Tetsuo Hiraiwa
John M. Horack
Lawrence D. Huebner
Iwao Igarashi
Yoshifumi Inatani
Charlotte Kiang
Oliver Kunz
Jens Lassmann
Chiara Manfletti
Patrick M. McKenzie
K. Bruce Morris
Hidemasa Nakanishi
Satoshi Nonaka
Ko Ogasawara
Ulf Palmnäs
Norbert Püttmann
Pier Michele Roviera
Giuseppe Rufolo
Florian Ruhhammer
Gennaro Russo
Francesco Santoro
Lin Shen
Martin Sippel
Bryan Smith
Sreedhara Panicker Somanath
Gerald M. Stenovec
Alexander D. Storozh
Ramakrishnan Sundaram
Giorgio Tumino
Seshagiri Rao Vellanki
Oleg Ventskovsky
Josef Wiedemann


Liang Yanqian


Robert C. Parkinson