IAF Bureau

The IAF Bureau sets the agenda of the IAF General Assembly, including: review of new member candidates; supervision of IAF activities; and supervision of IAF accounts.

The IAF is administered by a Bureau consistent of Elected and Appointed Officers.

The Bureau meets four times every year – twice in March at the IAF Spring Meetings held in Paris and twice during the year’s International Astronautical Congress (IAC) in September/October.

Bureau meetings discuss IAF policy; IAF administrative and technical committees report on their activities; the IAF Finance Committee issues the audited financial statement of the Federation; and the Local Organizing Committees (LOCs) of upcoming IACs provide status reports. At an IAC, the Bureau is responsible for organizing the General Assembly meeting.

To become a member of the Bureau, a candidate must represent a member of the Federation. Candidacies must be accepted by a Nomination Committee, and then submitted to the General Assembly for approval.

The Bureau Elected Officers include its voting members: the President and twelve Vice-Presidents (VPs). Bureau Appointed Officers include the General Counsel, the Honorary Secretary, the Executive Director and the special advisors of the President. These last are non-voting members.

The Past President and the Incoming President of the Federation, the Presidents of the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) and the International Institute of Space Law (IISL) also participate in the Bureau meetings but are non-voting members.

The President and Vice Presidents are elected for three years. They are not eligible to serve for a consecutive term and they shall not serve the Federation for more than two non-consecutive terms of the same office.

It is made up of:

  • The IAF President
  • The Incoming IAF President
  • 12 IAF Vice-Presidents
  • The IAF Executive Director
  • The IAF General Counsel
  • The IAF Incoming General Counsel
  • The IAF Honorary Secretary
  • The President of the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA)
  • The President of the International Institute of Space Law (IISL)
  • Special Advisor to the President

Complete composition of the Bureau :



Research Professor, Space Policy Institute, George Washington University

Past President and Honorary Ambassador

Jean-Yves LE GALL

President, Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales (CNES)

VP: Global Membership Development

Mohammed Nasser AL AHBABI

Director General, UAE Space Agency

VP: Science & Academic Relations and Global Networking Forum

Gabriella ARRIGO

Head of International Relations, Italian Space Agency (ASI)

VP: Financial Matters and Industry Relations


Former Senior Director of Strategy, Space and Missile Systems, The Boeing Company

VP: Honours and Awards

Seishiro KIBE

Advisor, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)

VP: Developing Countries and Emerging Nations

Valanathan MUNSAMI

CEO, South African National Space Agency (SANSA)

VP: Diversity Initiatives and New Space Economy


Lecturer, Department of International Relations, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

VP: Education and Workforce Development


Research Engineer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

VP: Relations with International Organizations


Deputy Director General for International Cooperation, ROSCOSMOS

VP: Communications, Publications and Global Conferences


Lead, External Engagements, Lockheed Martin Corporation

VP: Technical Activities


Director, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)

VP: Parliamentarian and Ministerial Relations and User Communities

Dominique TILMANS

President, EURISY

VP: Societies and Museums

Baohua YANG

Vice President, Chinese Society of Astronautics

General Counsel


Full Professor of International Law, Sapienza University of Rome

IAF Honorary Secretary


Deputy Director General, Norwegian Space Agency

IISL President


European Space Agency (ESA)

IAA President


Former Ambassador and Minister of Foreign Affairs

Executive Director


IAF Secretariat

Special Advisor to the IAF President (IAC Evolution)


VP, Global Sales, Marketing & Customer Experience, Blue Origin