Committee on Space Security (2018-2021)

Committee Members  


  • Plattard, Serge


  • Faucher, Pascal


  • Giannopapa, Christina


  • Aceti, Roberto
  • Ailor, William
  • Airaud, Julien
  • Bonnal, Christophe
  • Crowther, Richard
  • del Monte, Luca
  • Granier, Amélie
  • Hertzfeld, Henry
  • Jah, Moriba
  • Johnson, Chris
  • Lods, Pierre
  • Logsdon, John
  • Lu, Zhuoyan
  • Lukaszczyk, Agnieszka
  • Martinez, Peter
  • Mathieu, Charlotte
  • Moranta, Sebastien
  • Nader, Ronnie
  • Nassisi, Annamaria
  • Pace, Scott
  • Peter, Nicolas
  • Robinson, Jana
  • Samson, Victoria
  • Schrogl, Kai-Uwe
  • Simpson, Michael
  • Singh, Gurbir
  • Steinberg, Klaus
  • Stubbe, Peter
  • Wan, Stephanie
  • Weeden, Brian
  • Wilson, Krystal
  • Zatti, Stefano
  • Zhang, Shengjun
  • Zhang, Zhenjun


  • Adriaensen, Maarten
  • Antoni, Ntorina
  • Le May, Samantha
  • Steer, Cassandra


  • Kusnierkiewicz, David Y.

Objective/scope of the committee

The Space Security Committee will focus on issues and activities that enhance or threaten the long term sustainability of space activities.

The committee will:

  • Assess and report on space debris, on natural hazards to the space environment, and other threats that may reduce humankind’s ability to work in space effectively;
  • Assess and report on activities that can enhance humankind’s ability to work in space effectively;
  • Promote international cooperative activities in securing outer space for current and future space activities.
  • Coordinate its activities with other relevant IAF Committees and Working Groups as well as those of the IAA and IISL
  • Identify areas for future studies and projects that would improve the long term sustainability of space activities.
  • Provide inputs to the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space and to non-governmental organizations focused on space activities.
  • To organise, as appropriate, Symposia and Workshops on space safety and security to be held under the auspices of the IAF.