Space Entrepreneurship and Investment Committee (SEIC)

Committee Members  


• Azam Shaghaghi

• Baldesi Gianluigi

DANOS George

• Drescher Juergen

Federico Giulia

• Ferreira José

• Fischer Rolf-Dieter

• Fouquet Thomas

• Giulicchi Luisella


Gustetic Jennifer

• Hacker Jacob

• Harriet Brettle

• Hazane Philippe

• Jaworski Jaroslaw


KUNES Michal

La Bonté Lisa

• Lendway Elisabeth Zoi

• Lenoir Benjamin

• Malinowska Katarzyna


• Medina José

• Mittal Anamol


• Namta Gourav

• Olson Thomas


• Raposo Ana




SHAR Manny

• Stelmakh-Drescher Olga

• Stepanova Olga

• Tabasco Vargas Sergio

• Tchangole Thierry

• Toop-Rose John

• Tung Helen

• Wang Dapeng


• Onuki Misuzu

• Silva Melo Michele Cristina

Objective/scope of the committee

The Space Entrepreneurship and Investment Committee (SEIC), inaugurated in 2007, promotes dialogue among entrepreneurs, established companies, government, and academia, focusing on the encouragement of economic innovation, private-public partnership, the diversification of the space economy budgets for the various fields within the space industry, and the attraction of private investment. In 2012, the Committee was recognized as a global clearinghouse for dialogue concerning these subjects. By 2027, the SEIC should be generating ideas and inspiring initiatives in various regions worldwide that concretely contribute to technology-driven economic growth.

Committee rules for membership applications and renewal

  • A SEIC member submits a member-candidate’s name, along with a brief CV of the candidate, to the SEIC chair.
  • The Chair will forward the name and CV to other SEIC members.
  • Current SEIC members will be given an appropriate amount of time to review and provide comment on the candidature.
  • At the end of the allotted time, the SEIC Chair will call for an informal vote by the current members for acceptance of the candidate-member.
  • Results of the vote will be recorded and the appropriate letter will be sent to the candidate immediately afterward.

Symposiums/sessions at the iac

E 6: BUSINESS INNOVATION SYMPOSIUM (including technical Sessions E 6.1, E 6.2, E 6.3)

The symposium will address creative business approaches to serving government and private sector customers, as well as government options for encouraging this activity. The symposium will address the general role of government in encouraging space industry applications, new business models in traditional space industry applications (e.g. satellite-based services involving Earth observation, navigation and communications), and new space industry applications (e.g., space tourism, space-industrialisation, space resource utilisation).

Coordinator: Ken Davidian, Federal Aviation Administration Office of Commercial Space Transportation (FAA/AST), United States Coordinator: Nancy C. Wolfson, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, United States

Technical meetings or events outside of the iac

SEIC Meeting at IAF Spring Meetings in Paris, March 2023.

Studies undertaken by the committee

The Committee plans to be collaborate with the IAA in various studies. New study to be coming soon.

Other committee activities

“Space Is Business” Paper-Writing Competition in conjunction with the Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC).
Coordinators: Joerg Kreisel, Ken Davidian and Nancy C. Wolfson

“The New Space” Business Plan Competition in Conjunction with The Center for Space Commerce and Finance, World Space Week Association and The Space Generation Advisory Council-Commercial Space Project Group Project Managers: Thomas A. Olson and Nancy C. Wolfson

Working Groups (information coming soon)