Space Traffic Management Committee

Committee Members


• Alberto Agueda Maté

• William Ailor

• Anilkumar A. K.

• Aouimeur Mohamed Ramzi

• Auburn John

• Bastida-Virgili Benjamin

• Berend Nicolas

BONNAL Christophe

• Bouilly Jean-Marc

• Buinhas Luisa

• Cassady Joe

• Cattani Benedetta

Colombo Camilla

• Dasgupta Upasana

• Dolado-Perez Juan-Carlos

• Escobar Diego

• Faucher Pascal

• Flohrer Tim

FOING Bernard

• Forshaw Jason

• Francillout Laurent

• Gong Zizheng

• Grattan Kyran

• Gregori de la Malla Carmen

• Grishko Dmitriy

• Harris Toby

• Hejduk Matthew

JÄGER Markus

JAH Moriba

• Kato Akira

• Kawamoto Satomi

• Kerr Emma

KRAG Holger

• Jung Okchul

• Lacroix André

• Laporte François

• Lecas Morgane

• Lefevre Fleur

• Lemmens Stijn

LETIZIA Francesca

• Lozano Gonzalez José Miguel

• Madara Sahith Reddy

• Makurunje Phylis


• Martinot Vincent

Masson-Zwaan Tanja

• Metz Manuel

• Nassey Charlotte

• Nassisi Annamaria

• Nicolls Mike

• Nitta Kumi


• Omaly Pierre

• Opromolla Roberto

PERINO Maria Antonietta

• Piergentili Fabrizio

Plattard Serge

• Reynders Martin

• Romero Marco

Rovetto Robert

• Samanga Ruvimbo

• Sanchez-Ortiz Noelia

• Santoro Francesco

• Satoh Kenichi


• Skinner Mark

• Soares Tiago

• Sorge Marlon


• Srivastava Smiriti

• Stanciu-Manolescu Marius

• Strah Maruska

• Tung Helen

• Ubertini Pietro

• Usovik Igor

• Vellutini Elena


• Agapov Vladimir

• Alary Didier

• Alonso Inés

• Anz-Meador Phillip

• Bevilacqua Riccardo

• Bustos Enrique

• Cheng Haowen

• da Mata Henrique Oliveira

• Eder Valentin

• Fitz-Coy Norman

• Fu Yulei

• Hainaut Olivier

• Hermoso Jose Maria

• Jankovic Marko

Kebe Fatoumata

• Kelso T. S.

• Le May Samantha

• Li Yide

• Lips Tobias

• Liu Jing

MACLAY Timothy

McKnight Darren

• Michel Martin

• Munoz Rodolphe

• Pardini Carmen

• Perez Cristina

• Quan Haofang

• Ramos Maria Antonia

• Rodriguez Javier

• Rossi Alessandro

• Schildknecht Thomas

• Seitzer Pat

• Shepperd Ryan

• Singh Balbir

• Tang Mingliang

• Unfried Christian

• Urdampilleta Igone

• Yang Xu

• Yang Kuan

• Zhang Yao


The IAF Space Traffic Management Technical Committee TC.26 was founded following the joint decision between IAA (International Academy of Astronautics), IISL (International Institute of Space Law), and IAF (International Astronautical Federation) taken on Oct. 1st, 2018 in Bremen, formalized with a Memorandum of Understanding attached as Annex 1 to this document.

IAF, IAA, and IISL join in a cooperative initiative to develop comprehensive recommendations for behaviors and proposals for STM to be addressed to decision-makers on national and international level in order to promote the safe exploration and use of outer space and minimize hazards to people and property on Earth..

To that extent, IAF STM TC contributes to the preparation of a joint IAF-IAA-IISL “white paper” with the objective of issuing a First Draft by IAC 2021 in Dubai. Coordination among the three entities will take place during the 2021 Spring Meetings in order to finalize the date of issue


The IAF STM TC aims at synthesizing the work performed under numerous existing entities.

The goal is, therefore, not to come up with ideas which are already well-advanced, but to synthesize these and other ideas and identify aspects in which actions are needed. As such, the focus will be in creating compelling insights and recommended behaviors over a comprehensive review of all dimensions and nuances of the STM challenge.

This Technical Committee serves as a platform for exchanges among experts from diverse affiliations and backgrounds.

A Forum of Exchange will be started on dedicated IAF TC webpage, within which any relevant document can be shared among members of the WG.


The research activities of the IAF STM TC cover essentially all technical topics related to the general STM ecosystem, meaning:

  • STM or STCM, Operational Coordination Services, Collision Avoidance (in orbit, at launch and at reentry), including the link and coordination with airspace users during launch and re-entry operations. It also includes Frequency Management and Coordination

  • The relation between disposal of space hardware and hazards to people on the ground and in aircraft.

  • SSA (Space Situational Awareness), SST (Space Surveillance & Tracking) and SWE (Space Weather); SSA also includes the NEO topic, but it is not relevant in the context here)

  • SEM (Space Environment Management) which includes activities such as Space Debris Mitigation, Remediation (ADR (Active Debris Removal), JCA (Just in time Collision Avoidance, …), LDTM (Large Debris Traffic Management), …

  • SOA (Space Operations Assurance) which covers SEM, SSA and STM

The “interlinks” between topics are fundamental: effective Space Traffic Management (STM) will be difficult to execute without immediate changes in our Space Environment Management (SEM) objectives and behavior (i.e., debris mitigation and remediation).

IAC 2021 Special Session