Honours & awards

The IAF through the work of the Honours and Awards (HAC) Committee confers a number of awards every year to individuals and groups who have distinguished themselves in space cooperation and space activities at global level and who are engaged with or participate actively in the activities of the Federation.

The awards are presented at the annual International Astronautical Congress.

Nomination material should be sent to the IAF Secretariat preferably by email at award [at] iafastro.org. If necessary, the reference can be sent by postal mail to:

IAF Secretariat
100 avenue de Suffren
75015 Paris

Download the IAF Awards Overview Table

IAF World Space Award

The IAF World Space Award is presented for an outstanding contribution or contributions in space science, space technology, space medicine, space law or space management of exceptional impact to the world’s progress in astronautics.

IAF Excellence in International Cooperation Award

The IAF Excellence in International Cooperation Award is presented annually to an individual who has demonstrated excellence in their efforts to promote and facilitate global engagement and cooperation in the space sector.

Allan D. Emil Memorial Award

The Allan D. Emil Memorial Award is one of the most prestigious IAF awards. It is presented annually for an outstanding contribution to space activities which involved international cooperation in astronautics.

IAF Hall of Fame

The IAF Hall of Fame is intended to create a standing forum of personalities that have contributed substantially to the progress of space science, technology and space benefits to humankind, within the framework of the IAF activities.

IAF Excellence in "3G" Diversity Award

The IAF Excellence in “3G” Diversity Award is intended to recognize IAF member organisations (industry, government, academia) and/or individual teams/projects within IAF member organizations worldwide for outstanding contributions to the fostering of “3G” (Geography, Generation, Gender) Diversity within the space sector.

IAF Excellence in Industry Award

The IAF Excellence in Industry Award is intended to distinguish an industry organization, member or non-member of the IAF, worldwide for introducing innovative space technologies to the global marketplace and is recognized throughout space industry for successfully executing a landmark space mission.

IAF Distinguished Service Award

The IAF Distinguished Service Award is intended to reward active volunteers for their contributions to the progress of astronautics and the Federation.

Frank J. Malina Astronautics Medal

The Frank J. Malina Astronautics Medal is presented annually to an educator who has demonstrated excellence in using his/her available resources to promote the study of astronautics and related space sciences.

Luigi G. Napolitano Award

The Luigi G. Napolitano Award is presented annually to a young scientist who has significantly contributed to the advancement of the aerospace science and has presented it with a paper at the IAC.

IAF Young Space Leaders Recognition Programme (YSL)

The IAF Young Space Leaders Recognition Programme is awarded to exceptional students and young professionals, who contribute to astronautics in their academic or early careers, reach out to other young people and their communities to share knowledge and experiences, have been engaged with the international space community and contribute to IAF activities.

IAF Interactive Presentation Award

Each year during the IAC, an IAF Interactive Presentation Award is held to recognize the Best Interactive Presentations of the Congress. Interactive presentations are awarded in each of the following congress categories: Science and Exploration, Applications and Operations, Technology, Infrastructure, and Space and Society.

Other Awards

In 2011, the IAF celebrated its 60th Anniversary and to honour the occasion, gave out a special, one-time award. The award honoured an organisation or individual for a singular and successful project in the field of space applications and space science and exploration, which demonstrates a measurable benefit to humanity. The recipient was the GPS Programme, for its uniqueness and the exemplary role it played in building international collaboration for the benefit of humanity.