IAF Excellence in International Cooperation Award

The IAF Excellence in International Cooperation Award is presented annually to an individual who has demonstrated excellence in their efforts to promote and facilitate global engagement and cooperation in the space sector.

2023 Call for Nominations - CLOSED

The exploration of space has resulted in the advancement of scientific knowledge and benefits for all of humanity. As we expand further into the universe, as we learn new things, identify new problems, and come up with novel solutions, it is important to pay tribute to those at the forefront of international collaboration who help us work together and bridge our differences.

As a global federation, the IAF strives to promote a worldwide dialogue to support international cooperation as the foundation of a stable and developing space community.

Dedicated to acknowledge the efforts and achievements in facilitating global engagement and cooperation, this award is intended to recognize outstanding contributions by an individual in advancing international cooperation including in, but not limited to, the fields of space science, space technology, space medicine, space law and space policy.

Any IAF Member Organization in good standing, Chairperson of IAF Administrative and Technical Committees, and IAF Officer is invited to nominate a candidate for the IAF Excellence in International Cooperation Award.

2022 Recipient

The IAF Excellence in Cooperation Award 2022 has been bestowed to Mr. Frederic Nordlund who has fostered international relations throughout his professional career.His efforts were ot limited to the 22 ESA member states, but spread to several international organisations throughout the globe, such as the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), China National Space Administration (CNSA), Russian Federal Space Agency (Roscosmos), Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Korea Aerospace Research Institute (KARI), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Instituto Nacional de Pesquisas Espaciais (INPE), and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA). In many international space endeavours, he established himself as a true ambassador of a world-wide international cooperation to the best benefit of space science, human spaceflight, exploration and applications. In this, he was always ensuring a collaborative spirit amongst members of the space community over more than 30 years.


Head of the European andExternal Relations Department, European Space Agency (ESA)


2021 Recipient

The first IAF Excellence in Cooperation Award 2021 has been bestowed to Dr. Jean-Yves Le Gall for his fruitful networks and collaborations with numerous stakeholders at political, institutional, industrial and academic levels encouraging them to work together to create a coherent space strategy.

Jean-Yves LE GALL

Former President, Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales (CNES)


Should you have any questions about the IAF Excellence in International Cooperation Award, please contact the IAF Secretariat at: