2014 Emerging and future Space Leaders announced

The IAF is delighted to announce the results of the 2014 Emerging Space Leaders Grant Programme.

Fourteen young people have been selected to participate in the 2014 IAF ESL Programme, and attend the 65th International Astronautical Congress in Toronto, Canada from 29 September to 3 October 2014. These participants will receive the following:

  • Round trip air fare between the candidate’s home country and Toronto, Canada.
  • Funding for transportation, lodging and meals during the candidate’s stay in Toronto, Canada.
  • Free registration for the 65th International Astronautical Congress as well as the Space Generation Congress or the 2014 UN/IAF Workshop, the Cross Cultural Presentation Workshop and other associated activities.
  • Mentors will provide advice on presentations at the IAC and on activities before and during the IAC to help grant recipients benefit fully from the Congress and related meetings and meet with the grant recipient during the IAC.

The winners are:

  • Yunus Emre Arslantas, Turkish, University of Bremen
  • Pouyan Azari, Iranian, University of Wuerzburg
  • Sanat Biswas, Indian, The University of New South Wales
  • Natalia Vargas Cuentas, Bolivian, Military College of Engineering (Escuela Militar de Ingenieria EMI)
  • Dawoon Jung, Korean, International Space University
  • Marten Jurg, Australian, RMIT University
  • Norilmi Amilia Ismail, Malaysian, University of Sains Malaysia
  • Kattia Flores Pozo, Bolivian, Bolivia Mirando al Cosmos
  • Lyle Roberts, Australian, The Australian National University
  • Luis Salaverria, El Salvador, University of Don Bosco
  • Idriss Sisaid, Moroccan, Cranfield University
  • Kingsley O. Ukaegbu, Nigerian, Federal University of Tech. Owerri
  • Reuben Jikeme Umunna, Nigerian, National Space Research
  • Eric Wille, German, European Space Agency (ESA)

The Future Space Leaders Foundation (FSLF) is also pleased to announce the 2014 Future Space Leaders Grant Program providing opportunities for U.S. graduate students and young professionals pursuing space and satellite-related careers to participate in the 65th International Astronautical Congress (IAC).

The 2014-15 FSLF Grant Winners are:

  • Alexander Burg, an engineer earning his doctorate in systems engineering at the George Washington University Space Policy Institute in Washington, D.C.;
  • Anne Caraccio, a chemical engineer working at the NASA Kennedy Space Center in Florida;
  • Katrina Laygo, a master’s candidate at the George Washington University Space Policy Institute in Washington, D.C.;
  • Samantha Marquart is pursuing a PhD in Systems Engineering at George Washington University in Washington, D.C.;
  • and Amanda Sweeney, a technology analyst with The Tauri Group in Alexandria, Virginia