Ioannis DAGLIS

Hellenic Space Center • President

Prof. Dr. Ioannis A. Daglis is the President of the Hellenic Space Center, the space agency of Greece, and Professor of Space Physics at the University of Athens. He has been a co-investigator of the NASA space missions SAC-B, Polar and THEMIS, and of the ESA space missions BepiColombo and Proba-3. He has been the scientific representative of the SREM instrument on the ESA mission Rosetta, and science team member of the NASA missions AMPTE, CRRES, Geotail and of the ESA mission Cluster. Prof. Daglis has been Full Member of the International Academy of Astronautics since 2011; Editor-in-Chief of Annales Geophysicae since 2014; Scientific Discipline Representative to SCOSTEP (Scientific Committee on Solar-Terrestrial Physics) since 2014; Chair of the Next Scientific Program (PRESTO) Committee of SCOSTEP (2017-2019). He currently leads the Horizon2020 Leadership in Enabling and Industrial Technology (LET) project SafeSpace ( which aims at advancing space weather nowcasting and forecasting capabilities through the development of a sophisticated model of the Van Allen electron belt and of a prototype space weather forecast service with a target lead time of 2 to 4 days. He also leads the ESA project G4G, which will deliver key capabilities needed in support of the development and operation of ESA science missions, based on the Geant4 simulation toolkit. Prof. Daglis has been Principal Investigator in 29 projects (8 EU-funded, 12 ESA-funded, 9 nationally funded). He has published 110+ refereed papers and has given 50 invited talks and 300+ contributed papers at 170+ conferences. The impact of his published work is reflected in 3500 citations and an h-index of 33 in Web of Science; 5800 citations, h-index=42 and i10-index=96 in GoogleScholar. He has edited and co-authored 5 textbooks, one of which (Space Storms and Space Weather Hazards, 2001) has been "recommended teaching material" for Space Sciences by the UN's Office for Outer Space. Prof. Daglis served as a Member of ESA's advisory Solar System Working Group (2005-2010), as the National Delegate of Greece at the Programme Committee of thematic priority "Space" of the 7th RTD Framework Programme of the European Commission (2006-2009 and 2012-2013); as Head of the Greek Delegation to the joint EC/ESA High-Level European Space Policy Group (2004-2008); and as Delegate of Greece to the Council of the European Space Agency (2013-2017). He has also served as scientific advisor and technical expert for (among others) NASA, the Academy of Finland, Research Council of Norway, BELSPO (Belgian Federal Science Policy Office), Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres, New Eurasia Foundation Russia, Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), European Commission, etc. In particular, Prof. Daglis served as a Member of the NASA Definition Team for the RBSP (Radiation Belt Storm Probes) mission (now Van Allen Probes mission); as the Chairman of the Physics Panel of the Marie Curie Individual Fellowships for 8 consecutive years (2007-2014); and as the Independent Observer of the Marie Curie Individual Fellowships Evaluation in 2016, 2018 and 2019.


The Global Space Exploration Conference 2021

14-18 June 2021

St. Petersburg, Russia