The Programme for GLAC 2018 is organized by an International Programme Committee (IPC), co-chaired by:


Integrated Applications Manager, European Space Agency (ESA)

United Kingdom


Founder and CEO, Chipsafer


Dear colleagues,

We are very glad to invite you to the 2nd Global Space Applications Conference – GLAC 2018 in Montevideo, Uruguay.
The first GLAC took place in Paris in 2014 and after the success of the event it was decided to hold a follow-on conference in Latin America. GLAC 2018 will take place on May 21 – 23 and we encourage you to participate in the Conference. We are currently preparing a very diverse program which will attract stakeholders from various industries. The conference will gather representatives of space agencies, industry, academia and other stakeholders from all over the world and it will be a great instance to network and find collaboration opportunities.
Space companies, ranging from startups to big corporations, are providing services for various sectors, including agriculture, farming, mining, fishing, transport, energy and others. The GLAC 2018 is strategically located at Uruguay a country in South America whose main industry is farming and agriculture. Therefore space applications can massively help Uruguay and the countries of the region. GLAC 2018 will provide a platform to make countries aware of the benefits of space applications for their industries.
Please join us next year at GLAC 2018 in the city of Montevideo, capital city of Uruguay to generate a positive impact with Space Applications.

Programme Committee Members,

  • Khaled Al Hashmi, Director of Space Missions, Science and Technology, UAE Space Agency
  • Salem Al Marri, Assistant DG for Science & Technology Sector, Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Centre (MBRSC)
  • Rodrigo Alonso Suarez, Associated Professor, Solar Energy Laboratory CENUR Litoral Norte,, Universidad de la República
  • Gabriella Arrigo, Head of International Relations and Advanced Education Unit, Italian Space Agency (ASI)
  • Beatrice Barresi, Applications Engineer, European Space Agency (ESA)
  • Avi Blasberger, Director General, Israel Space Agency (ISA)
  • Manuel Caldas, Official National Directorate of Telecommunications and Audiovisual Services (DINATEL),, Ministry of Industry, Energy and Mines
  • Gilberto Camara, Researcher, Brazilian National Institute for Space Research (INPE)
  • Rosario Casanova, Director, Surveying Institute, Faculty of Engineering, University of the Republic
  • Julio Cesar Castillo, Director of Security, Mexican Space Agency (AEM)
  • **Simonetta Cheli*, Head of Coordination Office, Directorate of Earth Observation Programmes, European Space Agency (ESA)
  • Pablo de Leon, Associate Professor, Human Spaceflight and Space Suit Researcher, Department of Space Studies, University of North Dakota
  • Felipe Duarte Santos, Professor Physics and Environmental Sciences Department,, University of Lisbon
  • Driss El Hadani, Director Centre Royal de Teledetection Spatiale (CRTS)
  • Carmen Felix, Electronic and Communication Engineer, Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC)
  • Marco Ferrazzani, Legal Counsel and Head of the Legal Services Department, European Space Agency (ESA)
  • D. Gowrisankar, Director, International Cooperation, Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)
  • James Graf, Deputy Director for Earth Sciences and Technology, Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL)
  • Henry Hertzfeld, Director, Space Policy Institute, John Washington University
  • Jeanne Holm, Senior Technology Advisor to the Mayor, University of California
  • Rhoda S. Hornstein, Retired National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • Geir Hovmork, Deputy Director General, Norwegian Space Centre
  • John Kimani, Lead Scientist/Coordinator, Kenya Space Agency
  • Otto Koudelka, Head, Institute of Communications Network & Satellite Communications, Graz University of Technology
  • Jean-Pascal Le Franc, Director of Planning, International Relations & Quality, Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales (CNES)
  • Steven Lett, Head of Secretariat, COSPAS-SARSAT
  • Denis Lyskov, Director General, Glavkosmos
  • Stuart Martin, CEO, Satellite Applications Catapult
  • Tanja Masson-Zwaan, Asst. Professor and Deputy Director, Leiden University
  • Attila Matas, Retired International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
  • Francisco Mendieta, General Director, Mexican Space Agency (AEM)
  • Felix Menicocci, General Secretary, Comisión Nacional de Actividades Espaciales (CONAE)
  • S.O. Mohammed, Director General, National Space Research and Development Agency (NASRDA)
  • Val Munsami, CEO, South African National Space Agency (SANSA)
  • Masami Onoda Administrator, International Relations Department, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)
  • Anh Tuan Pham, Director General, Vietnam National Satellite Center (VNSC)
  • Barbara Ryan, Former Director, GEO Secretariat
  • Gunter Schreier, Head, Business Development/Deputy Director, Department Earth Observation Center, German Aerospace Centre (DLR)
  • Kai-Uwe Schrogl, President, International Institute of Space Law (IISL)
  • Brent Smith, Retired National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
  • Anond Snidvongs, Executive Director, Geo-Informatics and Space Technology Development Agency (GISTDA)
  • Rafael Sotelo, Adviser National Directorate of Telecommunications and Audiovisual Services (DINATEL), Ministry of Industry, Energy and Mines
  • Luc St- Pierre, Chief of Space Applications Section, United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA)
  • Petteri Taalas, Secretary General, World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
  • Gonzalo Tancredi, Full Professor at the Dept. of Astronomy, Faculty of Sciences, Universidad del Uruguay
  • Guadalupe Tiscornia, Researcher GRAS Unit (Agro-climate and Information Systems Unit), National Institute of Agricultural Research (INIA Uruguay)
  • Stephanie Wan, Global Engagement Strategist, US State Department Space and Advance Technologies Office
  • Kammy Brun-Chan, Head of International Business Development China, HEAD Aerospace Technology Co.
  • Yiran Wang, Vice President & Secretary General, Chinese Society of Astronautics (CSA)
  • Charles Wooldridge, Acting Director, International and Interagency Affairs Division, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

Supported by

the electric factory
Uruguay Natural

Endorsed by

De interés ANII



Media Partners