An important element of the IAF Mission is the acknowledgment of remarkable achievements by IAF member organizations across the whole space sector. For this reason, the IAF confers a number of awards every year to individuals and groups who have distinguished themselves in space cooperation and space activities at a global level.

The IAF is pleased to announce the following IAF AWARDS RECIPIENTS FOR 2020:


IAF World Space Award 

The  Chang’e 4 Mission Leaders
(from left to right)
WU Weiren, Designer-in-Chief of China’s Lunar Exploration Program

YU Dengyun, Deputy Designer-in-Chief of China’s Lunar Exploration Program
SUN Zezhou Designer-in-Chief of probe system of Chang’e-4 Program

“For making an outstanding contribution to space exploration and technology in their achievement to soft land on the far side of the moon for the first time in history of humankind and successfully sustain relay communication between the far side of the moon and the Earth”.

The IAF World Space Award is presented for an outstanding contribution or contributions in space science, space technology, space medicine, space law or space management of exceptional impact to the world’s progress in astronautics.

Allan D. Emil Memorial Award

Dr. K Sivan
Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)

“Who has strongly contributed to the development of the Indian Space Programme, fostering international cooperation and inspiring emerging space agencies in continuing with their efforts”.

The Allan D. Emil Memorial Award is presented annually for an outstanding contribution to space science, space technology, space medicine or space law.

IAF Hall of Fame

Dr. Tomifumi Godai

Former President, International Astronautical Federation (IAF)
Former Senior Vice President of National Space Development Agency of Japan (NASDA)

Prof. Elizabeth Kordyum

Head of the Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy of the Institute of Botany of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine

Prof. Yu Menglun

 Engineer at China Academy of Launch Vehicle Technology (CALT)

Prof. Meng Zhizhong

Chief senior technical adviser of the Shanghai Academy of Space Flight Technology

The IAF Hall of Fame is intended to create a standing forum of personalities that have contributed substantially to the progress of space science, technology, and space benefits to mankind.

Frank J. Malina Astronautics Medal

Prof. Peter Martinez
Executive Director of the Secure World Foundation

“For his outstanding contributions to space education in South Africa and beyond as well as being an educator and promoter of the study of astronautics and space sciences in academic teaching as well as performing education, public, scientific and political outreach.” 

The Frank J. Malina Astronautics Medal is presented to an educator who has demonstrated excellence in taking the fullest advantage of the resources available to them to promote the study of astronautics and related space sciences.

IAF Excellence in Industry Award

AIRBUS Defence and Space 
“For delivering world-beating space technology to customers around the world: from the 2400 space craft equipments, to the 18 satellites successfully placed in orbit”.
The IAF Excellence in Industry Award distinguishes an industry organization worldwide for introducing innovative space technologies to the global marketplace and is recognized throughout space industry for successfully executing a landmark space mission.

IAF Excellence in “3G” Diversity Award

European Space Agency

“For their commitment to create a modern and inclusive working environment and striving to enhance the innovative perspectives brought in by a diverse pool of talents”.

The IAF Excellence in “3G” Diversity Award recognizes IAF member organizations worldwide for outstanding contributions to the fostering of “3G” (Geography, Generation, Gender) Diversity within the space sector.

The IAF is thankful for all your meaningful contributions to the space sector, making our world a better place. Congratulations to all, keep up this great work!

To find out more about these great achievements visit iafastro.org.

Best regards,

IAF Secretariat

IAF Secretariat – 100 Avenue de Suffren – 75015 Paris, France
T: +33 (0)1 45 67 42 60  – E: info@iafastro.org – W: www.iafastro.org
Non-profit organisation established under the French Law of 1 July 1901
Be part of the conversation @iafastro 

      unsubscribe from this list | update subscription preferences